The Second Sino-Japanese War began on September 18, 1931 when Japan invaded China’s Manchuria and took control of the Northeastern part of China. The war then escalated into a full-blown war on July 7, 1937 when the Japanese troops crossed the Marco Polo Bridge and invaded Peking (today’s Beijing). This was followed by eight years of terror when the people in China and other countries in Asia were pillaged, raped, and murdered. The number of Chinese killed during the Second Sino-Japanese War was about 25-30 million, and millions of Chinese women and girls were raped. To the Chinese, WWII started in 1931.

The video on the left is a film documentation produced by the US War Department and released in 1944.
THE BATTLE OF CHINA focuses on Japan’s invasion of China. Special attention is paid to the history of China and the origins of the conflict, including Japan’s “Tanaka Memorial” plan for conquest. A moving, human portrait of a nation beset by tragedy, the documentary highlights the grim determination of the Chinese, who lose battle after battle yet stay in the fight.

The atrocities that the Japanese Imperial Army inflicted on China, Korea, Philippines, and other parts of Asia during WWII were not isolated incidents, but massive atrocities that included the Nanking Massacre, sex slaves, biological and chemical warfare, and slave labor.

The Nanking Massacre:During the six-week period beginning on December 13, 1937, about 300,000 Chinese (mostly civilians) were killed, over 20,000 Chinese females (women, girls, and even very young girls and great grandmothers) were raped, and one third of the city of Nanking was burned to the ground. Many Chinese were beheaded or bayoneted in competitions among Japanese soldiers to see who could kill the most. Many were lined up and shot en mass, or were buried alive in mass graves. The Yangtze River was a river of death with dead bodies floating all over, and Nanking ran out of coffins.

Woman still clutching baby even thoughA field of severed heads.

her head had just been cut off.

  Horror of Nanking Massacre is captured in quote from Chu-Yeh Chang, a 14th-year old boy at that time whose great grandmother, mother, and younger sister were raped, and his great grandmother was also killed after being raped: “Crossing the Yangtze River on a small boat back to Nanking, we saw many dead bodies bloated like balloons floating around us, and the smell of the corpses from the upstream Ba-Gua-Zhou Island made me feel like puking. These bodies were often the result of killing practices and competitions among the Japanese troops, and many of the bodies were without their heads as decapitation was one of the Japanese’s favorite execution methods.  The walls of the city moat were covered with blood drops and bullet holes.”1

 

Sex Slaves(or euphemistically called “comfort women” by the Japanese government):

Approximately 400,000 women and young girls from China, Korea, Philippines, Netherlands, and other countries (with about 50% being Chinese) were forced to become sex slaves to the Japanese soldiers occupying China, Korea, Burma, Philippines, and other parts of Asia.2  Most of these women and girls were kidnapped from their families and shipped to all over the Japanese empire to become sex slaves, and many died or were never united with their families again.  Sometimes, these women and girls were tricked to become sex slaves when they thought they were being recruited for other jobs.  As sex slaves, they were raped on a daily basis by as many as two dozen or more Japanese soldiers, while being poorly fed and living in extremely harsh conditions.

  

Many women were forced to                  A gang-raped woman was killed and had her

become sex slaves.stomach split open.

  The terrifying experience of a sex slave can be seen from the remarks of Kim Koon Ja of Korea when she recalled her days as a Japanese sex slave: “On a daily basis, I was raped by Japanese soldiers, and it was common to be raped by 20 different soldiers a day, and on some days, it was as high as 40.  If we fought or resisted the rapes, we would be punished, beaten or stabbed by the soldiers.  There were soldier overseers to make sure that we complied and, if we resisted, they would punish us.  My body is forever marked and scarred with those beatings and in some cases stabbings with a knife …The Japanese government must acknowledge and admit to its crimes and claim responsibility for these atrocities.  The Japanese government is mistaken if it is simply waiting for all of us to die.  Eighteen former comfort women already died in 2006.  Many have died but our memories and history live on in the voices of the younger generation and written resolutions … The Japanese government should officially apologize and provide reparations.”3

 

Biological and Chemical Weapons of Mass Destruction:Thousands of biological and chemical weapons were used by the Japanese army in Heilongjiang, Hunan, Jiangsu, Jilin, Guangdong, Yunnan, Zhejiang, and other provinces in China.  The largest Japanese biological/chemical warfare laboratory, Unit 731, near Harbin, Heilongjiang, is probably the largest such laboratory ever in the world.  Unit 731 was a gigantic complex covering six square kilometers and consisted of more than 150 buildings, with living quarters and amenities for up to 3,000 Japanese staff members, 300-500 of whom were medical doctors and scientists.  The complex contained various factories.  It had 4,500 containers for raising fleas, six giant cauldrons to produce various chemicals, and around 1,800 containers to produce biological agents, such as those associated with cholera, bubonic plague, and anthrax.  Approximately 30 kg of bubonic plague bacteria could be produced there in several days. An example of such biological (germ) warfare occurred on May 4, 1942 when Japanese airplanes dropped cholera and bubonic plague infected bombs in the city of Baoshan in Western Yunnan that killed about 60,000 people in the Baoshan area from cholera, and thousands more were killed from the bubonic plague. The population of Baoshan In 1942 was about 400,000.

 

  Quote from eyewitness and survivor An Xian Ma, an eight-year-old boy at that time after the cholera and bubonic plague infected bombs were dropped in Baoshan on May 4, 1942: “There were so many deaths that they even ran out of coffins, resulting in bodies just being left exposed on mattresses. One day, he even saw dogs running around with human leg bones in their mouths. So many men were killed; it was up to the women to carry away the bodies. He said it was like hell.”4

 

Many terribly painful life-long rotten leg infections were caused by glanders used by the Japanese military during WWII.

Photo of the legs of a victim of glanders attack in 1942 in Zhejiang Province.

Note: At the 27th General Assembly of The Japan Medical Congress in Osaka, a segment of the Japan Medical Congress organized a big exhibit on “War and Medicine” that reflects on the morality of Japanese medicine as practiced by Japan’s biological/chemical warfare research centers and factories. More information can be found:

 

Slave Labor:The number of slave laborers in Asia forced by the Japanese Imperial Army was huge. According to an official report from the Japanese Ministry of Foreign Affairs dated 1946 when Japan had already lost the war and was trying to erase or at least reduce the magnitude of her crimes, there were 40,000 Chinese forced laborers in Japan, which was probably an underestimate by an order of magnitude.  Since most of the Chinese forced laborers were working in various parts of China, and not Japan, the number of Chinese forced laborers could easily run into millions.5

 

  These slave laborers worked under unimaginable harsh conditions. Former slave laborers Zhang Shijie (born in 1925) and Cui Guangting (born in 1924) recalled that the torment started from the moment they arrived in Japan “They ripped off our clothes and whipped us in a dark house while we were naked … We had to work for over 10 hours a day and were fed musty steamed buns and pickles once a day. We were not allowed to drink water while working in order to save time. And we would be beaten heavily by the guards if we picked up rotten leaves or food from rubbish bins to feed ourselves We were so hungry that sometimes we had to steal food from the mouths of rats.” Their long work days and lack of food left them with all kinds of diseases, ranging from stomach illnesses to lung diseases and dermatitis. None of them was healthy after they had been tortured.6

 

Prisoners of war (POWs) of the Japanese Imperial Army during WWII were consistently mistreated. Torture, slave labor, and execution were common. There were numerous incidents, including not only Chinese, but also soldiers from Western countries such as the U.S. This occurred during the previously mentioned Nanking Massacre when thousands of Chinese soldiers were summarily executed whenever they were captured. Another incident occurred in the aftermath of the Japanese troops defeating the American and Filipino troops after the 99-day Battle of Bataan in the Philippines on April 9, 1942, which was the largest defeat in U.S. military history. The end of the Battle of Bataan marked the beginning of one of the cruelest episodes in the history of modern warfare, the little known Bataan Death March.

 

  Before the march began, the 76,000 American and Filipino POWs were already extremely weak with exhaustion and starvation, and many were injured or sick.  During the week-long 60-plus mile march, the POWs were not given any food, except for a rice ball or two during the whole march (not per day).  They were also not given any water, even though there was plenty of fresh ground water nearby.  Any POW who tried to get water from these fresh water sources were shot or bayonet to death on the spot.  The POWs had no choice but to gather whatever water they found in the water puddles along the trail, even though these water puddles were usually dirty and infected.  They were given little rest, and anyone who stopped on his own or was not able to continue was killed on the spot, including those who were sick or injured.  Furthermore, anyone who showed any sign of belligerent behavior or just disrespect was also killed on the spot.  A common method of killing was beheading. About 25-30% never completed the week-long march.7

Photo of Bataan prisoners from: http://www.battleofbataan.com/photos.html

(this site contains many other photos)

Why Change Needs to Happen? In spite of the large scale and seriousness of these atrocities, the Japanese government still has not formally acknowledged the atrocities their Imperial Army committed about 70-80 years ago. This long amnesia of war crimes of such magnitude is a great stumbling block to ultimate peace and reconciliation among the Asian countries, and the world at large. That is why improving the education of this part of history is especially important today when students everywhere need to become world citizens. For the sake of our children and grandchildren getting a correct perspective on history, this state of affairs must change.

Footnote 1: See article “Nanking Massacre: An Eyewitness Account” in http://www.nj-alpha.org/Reference_Information_Articles/HTML_Articles/Chang_Chu_Yeh_English.html

Footnote 2: These are the most recent estimates based on more than 20 years of investigation by the world’s foremost expert on the sex slaves issue, Professor Zhi Liang Su (and his team), who is the Director of the Comfort Women Research Institute at the Shanghai Normal University in Shanghai, China.  Earlier corresponding numbers from the United Nations were 200,000 sex slaves, with the majority being Koreans.

Footnote 3: http://democrats.foreignaffairs.house.gov/110/kim021507.htm

Footnote 4: http://www.dontow.com/2009/08/heroic-and-critical-battles-in-yunnan-during-wwii/

Footnote 5: http://www.dontow.com/2014/09/reflections-from-2014-peace-reconciliation-asia-study-tour/

Footnote 6: http://www.globaltimes.cn/content/850227.shtml

Footnote 7: See article “American POWs and the Bataan Death March,” http://www.dontow.com/2009/06/american-pows-and-the-bataan-death-march/

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

1931年9月18日,日本军队入侵中国满洲地区(中国东北的旧称),占领了中国东北部地区,抗日战争由此爆发。1937年7月7日,日军制造了“卢沟桥事件”之后,大举入侵北平(当今的“北京”)。接下来的八年里,日军在中国以及其他一些亚洲国家烧杀抢掠,奸淫无数,犯下了滔天罪行。抗日战争中,遇害中国公民人数约为2500-3000万,而被强奸的无辜女性更是数以百万计。对于中国人而言,第二次世界大战自1931年就已经开始。

左边视频是美国战争部制作的一部电影纪录片,于1944年对外公布。
“中国之战”关注日本侵华战争,特别关注中国历史和中日冲突的根源,包括日本侵华计划书《田中奏折》。
电影感人至深,刻画了一个不幸民族的人物肖像,凸显了中国人宁死不屈的决心,虽然一次一次战败,但是仍然顽强战斗到底。

第二次世界大战期间,日本帝国主义军队在中国、朝鲜半岛、菲律宾等亚洲国家犯下的种种惨无人道的暴行并不是孤立的,而是大规模发生的,如发动南京大屠杀,强征慰安妇,进行生化战争和奴役劳工等。

南京大屠杀:1937年12月13日起,侵华日军对南京进行了长达六周的屠城劣迹。约有30万中国人(大多数是无辜平民)惨遭杀害,2万多女性(包括女人、女孩,甚至女童和老年女性)遭到日军士兵的无耻强奸,而南京城有三分之一都被夷为平地。日本士兵更是进行了各种杀人比赛,比赛谁砍杀的中国人最多,因此很多无辜中国人便惨死在日本士兵的刺刀之下。他们强迫中国人站成一行,用机枪对他们进行扫杀,还在乱坟岗活埋中国民众。当时的长江(扬子江)被称为死亡之河,因为那里曾漂浮无数尸体。屠杀期间,南京城的棺材根本不够埋葬被害的国人。


图1:一名中国妇女被日军残忍砍下头颅,怀里依然紧紧抱着孩子。图2:堆积如山的头颅。

  当时仅14岁的章楚叶(音译,Chu-Yeh Chang)亲眼目睹了南京大屠杀的种种惨状,他的曾祖母、母亲和妹妹都被日军强奸,而曾祖母更是惨遭奸杀。他回忆说:“我们在小木舟上漂回南京的途中,看到长江上到处都是死尸,像气球一样飘浮在我们周围,上游八卦洲漂浮的尸体传来阵阵气味,令人作呕不止。这些尸体大都是日军杀人比赛和各种杀戮的结果。日本军队喜欢砍杀百姓,因此河面上很多都是无头尸体。南京护城河城墙上满目血迹,弹痕斑斑。1

性奴隶:(日本政府美其名曰“慰安妇”)

日军占领中国、朝鲜半岛、缅甸、菲律宾以及其他亚洲国家时,从中国、朝鲜半岛、菲律宾、荷兰等国家掳掠了40多万妇女和少女,强迫他们沦为日本士兵的性奴隶,其中中国女性占到了半数左右。2 大部分妇女和少女都是被日军强逼抓走,送到日本帝国陆军各个军队,成为性奴隶。此后,一些女性惨死其中,还有很多女性再也未能同家人团聚。有时,日军以军队征用劳工为由头,骗走这些妇女和少女。沦为性奴隶之后,这些女性每天都会被20多名甚至更多日本士兵强奸,而她们每天却食不果腹、饥寒交迫。

   
图1:    许多妇女被日军抓去做“慰安妇”。图2:被日军轮奸后剖腹、五脏露于体外的妇女。

  来自朝鲜的金容子(音译,Kim Koon Ja)回忆了她当时被逼迫做“慰安妇”时的惨痛经历。她回忆说:“每天都会被20多名日本士兵强奸,有些时候甚至是40多名士兵。一旦我们稍作反抗,他们就会责打甚至用刺刀刺我们。日军甚至还成立了监管组,专门监督我们是否反抗。他们曾经用刀刺我,因此我身上留下了永远都无法消失的疤痕……日本政府必须承认他们犯下的这些滔天罪行。如果他们只是单纯认为我们这些人都会慢慢死去的话,那么他们就大错特错了。2006年,的确是有18名“慰安妇”去世。然而,尽管是有很多人在慢慢逝去,但是年轻的一代将会记住我们的回忆,历史也会被书面记载……日本政府必须官方道歉并且提供赔偿。”3

大规模杀伤性生化武器:日军侵略中国期间,曾在中国黑龙江、湖南、江苏、吉林、广东、云南、浙江以及其他多个省份和地区使用生化武器。日军在黑龙江哈尔滨附近成立的731部队,是日本最大的生化武器试验室,其规模也是迄今为止世界范围内前所未有的。据悉,731部队庞大的建筑群占地6平方公里,由150余座建筑组成,包括住宅建筑和各种娱乐设施,主要供3000多名日本工作人员使用,其中包括300-500名医学博士和科学家。731部队设有功能各异的多个工厂,拥有4500多个专门用来饲养跳蚤的培养箱,6个用于制造化学制剂的大锅炉,此外还有1800多个用于制造会引发霍乱、腺鼠疫以及炭疽的生物制剂的容器,几天内便可制出约30千克的腺鼠疫细菌。1942年5月4日,日军向云南西部保山地区空投了霍乱和腺鼠疫细菌感染炸弹,导致6万多当地民众死于霍乱,数千民众染上腺鼠疫最终惨死。1942年,保山地区的人口总数为40万。

  马安先(音译,An Xian Ma)是1942年日军空投细菌炸弹事件中的幸存者,当时他年仅8岁。他回忆称:“到处都是死尸,棺材根本不够用,因此很多死尸都直接放在草垫上的。”有一天,他甚至看到很多狗围在死尸旁边,嘴里衔着人的骨头。因为当时很多男性都被杀害,所以搬运尸体的都是女人。他回忆说那简直是地狱。4

第二次世界大战期间,日军到处使用马鼻疽细菌武器,致使很多人腿部终身烂脚感染,疼痛难忍。


图:1942年浙江省遭受马鼻疽感染的受害人腿部。

注:在大阪的第二十七届日本医学大会上,日本医学大会企划举办的关于“战争与医学”的盛大展览,从日本生物/化学战研究中心和工厂中反映出的日本医学道德。

更多信息可以点击链接:

http://war-medicine-ethics.com/War_and_Medicine/WarandMedicine_Doc/IntegratedChinese.pdf
奴役劳工:日本帝国陆军在亚洲地区奴役无数劳工。1946年,日本外务省发布了一份官方报告,称受到奴役的中国人人数为40万。外务省发布报告时,日本已经战败,正试图通过各种方式抹掉或掩盖罪行,因此这个数字有虚报成分。由于大多数中国人是被强迫到国内的多个地区劳作,无需到日本境内,因此劳工数量非常庞大,高达数百万。5

  这些受奴役劳工的工作环境令人难以想象。张世界(Zhang Shijie,生于1925年)和崔广廷(Cui Guangting,生于1924年)是当时被抓到日本进行劳役的两名幸存者,从踏上日本国土的那一刻起,他们就经历了非人类的虐待折磨。“他们脱光了我们的衣服,把我们关进小黑屋里鞭打……我们每天至少劳作10多个小时,每天只吃一顿饭,而且吃的还是发霉的馒头和咸菜,为了节省时间,我们连喝水的机会都没有。如果我们从垃圾箱里捡剩饭或烂树叶吃,被守卫看到了,他们就会狠狠地鞭打我们。当时真的太饿了,我们甚至跟老鼠抢食物吃。”长期劳作,加上缺乏食物,这些劳工落下了很多身体疾病,如肠胃病、肺病和皮肤炎。被虐待的劳工毫无健康可言。6

战争俘虏:第二次世界大战期间,日军对于俘获的战俘一贯采取虐待政策。酷刑、奴役和死刑都是司空见惯的。这些战俘不仅有中国人,还有美国等西方国家的士兵。本文之前提及的南京大屠杀便是案例之一,无论随时随地,日军总是对所抓到的中国士兵立即执行枪决。1942年4月9日,长达99天的巴丹半岛战役结束,日军战胜美国和菲律宾军队,此次战役堪称美军历史上最惨败的战斗。巴丹半岛战役结束了,但是却开启了现代战争史上残酷的战俘虐待事件,即鲜为人知的巴丹死亡行军事件。

  巴丹行军开始时,7.6万名美军和菲律宾战俘就已精疲力尽,弹尽粮绝,甚至还有很多受重伤或重病的士兵。行军为期一周,行程60多英里。这一周内,除了偶尔的一两个饭团外,战俘们吃不到别的任何食物,而饮水更是痴心妄想,即便附近就有水源,战俘们也没有机会喝到。任何试图获取水源的士兵都被当场枪杀或刺杀,因此士兵们只能在行军路上的小水洼处弄点水,而水洼的水通常都很脏甚至被严重污染。行军途中,战俘们罕有休息,但凡停走不前或无法前行的士兵,如伤员或病员,都被日军就地残杀。此外,任何有反抗情绪或好战行为的也都被处决。日军最常用的处决方式是杀头。整个行军过程中,约有25%-30%的士兵不幸丧命。7


图:巴丹半岛囚徒士兵

(图片来源链接:http://www.battleofbataan.com/photos.html该网站载有多张相关图片)

现况为何要改变? 尽管存在这些大规模的暴行,但是日本政府并未官方承认帝国军队在约70-80年前犯下的这些滔天罪行。日方如此掩盖战争罪行,是亚洲乃至世界范围内推进和平建设进程中的最大障碍。当今,各地学生都需要成为世界公民,因此关于加强这部分历史的教育问题就变得尤其重要。为了让我们的子孙后代树立正确的历史观,当前世界的这些情势必须有所改变。

注脚1: 《目击者眼中的南京大屠杀》,http://www.nj-alpha.org/Reference_Information_Articles/HTML_Articles/Chang_Chu_Yeh_Chinese.html

注脚2: 这些数据是性奴隶问题研究领域高级专家苏智良教授(和他的研究小组)20多年来的调查结果。苏智良教授是中国上海师范大学慰安妇课题研究所的主任。早些时期,联合国也公布了类似的数据,称约有20万性奴隶,其中大多数为朝鲜人。

注脚3: http://democrats.foreignaffairs.house.gov/110/kim021507.htm

注脚4: http://www.dontow.com/2009/08/heroic-and-critical-battles-in-yunnan-during-wwii/

注脚5: http://www.dontow.com/2014/09/reflections-from-2014-peace-reconciliation-asia-study-tour/

注脚6:
英文原文 http://www.globaltimes.cn/content/850227.shtml
中文翻译 http://vjday.org/10000/Chinese_%E6%88%98%E6%97%B6%E5%8A%B3%E5%B7%A5%E8%AF%89%E8%AE%BC%E8%A2%AB%E5%8F%97%E7%90%86.pdf

注脚7: 《美国战俘及巴丹死亡行军》,http://www.dontow.com/2009/06/american-pows-and-the-bataan-death-march/

发表评论

电子邮件地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

您可以使用这些HTML标签和属性: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>