As discussed in the “Home” page, the objective of this website is to provide a digital archive of the thousands of letters and form letters that Mr. Tong Zeng received in the first part of the 1990 decade from ordinary Chinese citizens who were victims of Japanese atrocities during the Second Sino-Japanese War (1931-1945). For a description of the letters and the process we develop to identify and describe the letters, please see the “Letters” page.

Also, as explained in the “Letters” page, by the 1990s, since most of the victims were already senior citizens and many of them are not well educated, to facilitate the documentation of their experience, some people developed “form letter template” to make it easier for such victims to document their experience.

We now describe the form letters. Note, however, in this first release of this website, no form letters have been included.

Instead of needing to write a letter from scratch, the form letter template provides placeholders for various fields for a victim or his/her representative to record various items of relevant information.

For each form letter, we have the following documents:

  • Scanned image of each page of the original form letter written in Simplified Chinese. This is an electronic photo copy of each page of the form letter. It is a .jpg file.
  • Digital file of the transcribed form letter in Simplified Chinese. This is a manual transcription of the Simplified Chinese letter. It provides a digital file that can allow searches. It is a .doc file. Because the original form letters were handwritten on mostly thin papers, using Optical Character Recognition (OCR) to automatically transform the scanned image files into digital files does not capture the contents accurately enough.
  • Digital file of the transcribed Chinese letter using Traditional Chinese. This is just a machine conversion (with manual review and changes as necessary) of the Simplified Chinese form letter file into a Traditional Chinese form letter file. It is a .doc file.
  • Digital file of the English translation of the original Chinese form letter. This is a translation of the Simplified Chinese form letter into English by a bilingual person. It is a .doc file.

So each form letter has a set of documents associated with that form letter.

For each scanned document, we assign it a unique identifier ID. For example, for the scanned image of the first form letter, its ID is sc01. The letters “sc” denotes that this is a scanned document of a form letter. Only two digits after the letter “sc” are necessary because there are less than 20 localities that had form letters, although each of these localities could have many dozens of pages for each form letter, because a page in a form letter is usually associated with a separate victim or a separate group of victims in that same locality.

For the scanned image of the pages of the first form letter, its ID is sc01-p001, sc01-p002, sc01-p003, etc. to denote the first page, second page, third page, etc. of the first form letter.

For the transcribed Simplified Chinese version of the first form letter, its ID is sc01s, with the second “s” denoting that this is a transcribed Simplified Chinese file. Because the transcribed file is for the whole form letter, and not for individual pages of the form letter, it is not necessary to introduce page number in the ID of the transcribed letter.

For the transcribed Traditional Chinese first form letter, its ID is sc01t, with the letter “t” denoting Traditional Chinese.

For the English translation of the first Chinese form letter, its ID is sc01g, with the letter “g” denoting English.

So there are multiple documents associated with each form letter. We use the ID sc01 to denote the folder that contains the whole set of documents associated with the first form letter.

The naming convention and unique identifiers for the first form letter are summarized in the following table (for the naming convention and unique identifiers for any other form letter, just replace sc01 with the unique ID of that other form letter):

Type of Document Unique ID Type of File
Scanned Chinese Form Letter sc01-p001, sc01-p002, sc01-p003, etc. .jpg
Digital Transcribed Simplified Chinese Form Letter sc01s .doc
Digital Transcribed Traditional Chinese Form Letter sc01t .doc
Digital Translated English Form Letter sc01g .doc
Folder containing the whole set of documents associated with the first Form Letter sc01 Folder

Table: Unique identifiers to denote various documents for the first form letter sc01

Every letter contains the following information:

  1. Type of atrocity (We classify the atrocities into nine types: Slave Laborers (SL), Murders (MU, not part of Nanking Massacre or Other Massacres), Air Bombings (AB), Rapes (RA, not part of Sex Slaves), Other Massacres (OM), Biological/Chemical Warfare (BC), Sex Slaves (SS), Nanking Massacre (NM) and Others (OT). It is possible that an event is associated with more than one category. For example, an event involving a woman being raped and then killed would be classified under both RA and MU.)
  2. Date of event
  3. Name(s) of victim(s)
  4. Location of event
  5. Date of letter
  6. Name of author
  7. Address of author
  8. Other details (information such as the number of people killed, raped, or injured, amount of property damaged, etc.

Besides these eight pieces of information, each form letter as already discussed also has a unique ID(also called sequence number) that identifies the folder containing all the documents associated with that form letter. Therefore, each form letter can be characterized by an equivalent “Index File” spreadsheet with nine indices. This spreadsheet Excel file with its indices is used to facilitate the searching of the contents of the form letters, as explained and can be tried in the “Search” page (once we have included form letters in a future release of this website).

In that future release, we will provide several sample form letters.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

如“首页”上讨论的那样,此网站的目的是提供童增先生在上世纪九十年代早期接收到的成千上万封在抗日战争(1931-1945)中受日军暴行伤害的中国普通公民的信件和登记表的数字档案。有关信件的描述和我们鉴定并描述信件的始末过程,请参见“信件”页。

正如“信件”页所解释的那样,到二十世纪九十年代时,大多数受害者都已是高龄老人,他们中的多数人也未受过良好的教育。于是为了便于记录这些老人的经历,就有人创建了“登记表模板”,这样受害者记录自己的经历就简单多了。

现在,我们来描述登记表。不过要注意的是,此网站首次发布时未包括任何登记表。

登记表模板提供了不同的字段占位符,方便受害者或其代理人记录相应的条目或相关经历,而无需另行草拟信件。

对于每一个登记表,我们都设置了以下文档:

  • 以简体中文编写的原始登记表的各页扫描图片,是登记表的各页电子照片副本,为.jpg 文件。
  • 以简体中文转录的登记表数字文件,采用人工转录方式,可供人们搜索,格式为.doc 文件。由于大多数原始登记表都是手写在薄纸上,因此,在使用光学字符辨识 (OCR) 将扫描图片文件自动转换为数字文件时无法精准地采集信件内容。
  • 使用繁体中文转录的中文信件数字文件。它由机器将简体中文登记表文件转化为繁体中文登记表文件(人工审核并在必要时进行修改),为.doc文件。
  • 原始中文登记表的英文翻译数字文件。它由通两种语言的人员将简体中文信件翻译成英文信件,为.doc文件。

所以,每一封登记表都包含与之相关的文档集。

对于每一份扫描的文档,我们都为其指定了唯一的识别码ID。例如,对于原始登记表的扫描图片,我们指定其ID是sc01。字母“sc”表示这是登记表的扫描文档。字母“sc”后只能是两位数,因为拥有登记表的所属目录不超过20个,尽管每一个所属目录中各个登记表均包含许多页,这是因为通常每一页是关于此所属目中单独的受害者或单独的受害者群体。

对于原始登记表各页的扫描图片,其ID分别是sc01-p001、sc01-p002、sc01-p003等,分别表示原始登记表的第一页、第二页、第三页等。

对于原始登记表的简体中文转录版本,其ID是sc01s,其中第二个“s”表示这是转录的简体中文文件。由于此转录文件是针对整个登记表而言,而不是针对登记表的单独页,因此必须在转录信件ID中显示页码。

对于原始登记表的繁体中文转录版本,其ID是sc01t,其中字母“t”表示繁体中文。

对于原始登记表的英文译本,其ID是sc01g,其中字母“g”代表英文。

因此,每个登记表包含多个相关文档。我们使用ID sc01表示此文件夹中包含与原始登记表相关的全部文档集。

下文总结了原始登记表的命名习惯和唯一识别码(其他任何套用文件的命名习惯和唯一识别码是,使用此套用文件的唯一ID取代sc01):

文档类型 唯一ID 文件类型
扫描的中文登记表 sc01-p001、sc01-p002、sc01-p003 等。 .jpg
数字转录的简体中文登记表 sc01s .doc
数字转录的繁体中文登记表 sc01t .doc
数字转录的英文登记表 sc01g .doc
包含与原始登记表相关的文档集的文件夹 sc01 文件夹

表格:唯一的识别码显示原始登记表sc01的各个文档

每个字母包含以下信息:

  1. 暴行种类 [我们将暴行分为九类:劳工(SL)、谋杀(MU,不属于南京大屠杀或其他屠杀)、轰炸(AB)、强奸(RA,不属于慰安妇)、其他大屠杀(OM)、细菌和化学战(BC)、慰安妇(SS)、南京大屠杀(NM)和其它(OT)。一个事件有可能与多个类别相关。例如,女性被奸杀事件可同时被归到RA和MU类别中。]
  2. 事件时间
  3. 受害者姓名
  4. 事件地点
  5. 信件日期
  6. 信件作者姓名
  7. 信件作者地址
  8. 其他详细信息(例如被杀害、强奸或受伤人数,损失财产数量等)。

除了这八种信息外,每一个上述登记表还拥有唯一的ID(也称为序列号),用于识别包含所有与之相关的文档集的文件夹。因此,每个登记表都相当于包含九个目录的“索引文件”电子数据表。正如“检索”页解释的那样,此电子表格Excel文件连同其目录可简化对登记表内容的搜索,您可在“检索”页进行尝试(网站的未来版本中将包括登记表)。

在未来版本中,我们将提供登记表示例。

发表评论

电子邮件地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

您可以使用这些HTML标签和属性: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>