This web-site is a collaboration between people in China and USA.

Origin of Project: For a more detailed description of the origin of the project, see the “Site Overview” page. The origin of the project began in 1990 when Mr. Tong Zeng, a young, concerned and patriotic Chinese, investigated the international legal issues regarding compensation related to atrocities committed by one country on the citizens of another country during a war. He concluded that the Chinese citizens who were victims of Japanese atrocities during the Second Sino-Japanese War (1931-1945) have every right to seek compensation from Japan (from the Japanese government, or in the case of slave labors, also from the Japanese corporations who used the slave laborers).

In March 1991 Mr. Tong Zeng distributed his open white paper to the delegates on their way to attend the National People’s Congress (NPC) in Beijing. The white paper stated that Chinese victims of Japanese atrocity have the legal rights to request Japan for compensation. In particular, he distinguished the case of the Chinese government seeking compensation from Japan and the case of Chinese citizens seeking compensation from Japan.

His white paper ignited a brush fire across the whole country. It was a long-overdue item for seeking justice and closure that has been buried in the hearts and souls of thousands and thousands of Chinese atrocity victims and their relatives. The silence of half a century should not be continued.

Immediately he received an avalanche of support letters from people all over China. These letters provided heart-wrenching recalls of the atrocities they or their relatives had suffered at the hands of the Japanese military. Within a few years, he received about 10,000 such letters. This is why this project/website is called “10000 Cries for Justice”.

When word got out that these letters were pouring in to Mr. Tong’s office, many journalists, as well as many relatives of the authors/victims of these letters, asked Mr. Tong to borrow many of these letters. Copying machines were not common in Chinese offices and homes 20 years ago. As a result, thousands of letters were borrowed and were never returned to Mr. Tong. Although Mr. Tong recently published a letter in Chinese newspapers requesting those who have borrowed any of these letters to return them to him, due to the long elapsed period, so far he has not received any returned items (we urge anyone who has borrowed any of these letters to return them to Mr. Tong Zeng as soon as possible, so that they can be added to this digital archive). As a result, the number of letters still in Mr. Tong’s possession now numbers only around 5,000.

After more than 20 years, not only that there was no progress from Japan to face up to this part of history, many Japanese government leaders have continued to make comments denying the existence of these atrocities. Mr. Tong thought that publishing these personal accounts would provide powerful evidence to refute all the false claims made by the Japanese government. Righting this injustice could be a catalyst to establish genuine friendship between the Japanese people and the Chinese people and true peace between Japan and China,as well as other countries.

Origin of Collaborative Project:When reports about the existence of these letters reached the U.S., David T. Chai and Don M. Tow, both with extensive experience in community activities in the U.S., immediately contacted Mr. Tong to seek his agreement to establish a joint project to scan and digitize these letters and post them in a public website, with translation into English of these letters (only about 10% of the letters will be translated in the first release; more translations will be included in future releases). Mr. Tong agreed and assigned his chief assistant Ms. Meng Huizhong to work with Chai and Tow, and the joint project was initiated in January 2014.

The Project consists of two teams:

A. Beijing Team:Headed by Tong Zeng, with a team of several members under the management of Meng Huizhong:

Tong Zeng (童增):Born in Chongqing in 1956. Graduated from Sichuan University in Chengdu, Sichuan in 1982 majoring in economics. From 1986-1989 he studied and received a master degree in law from Beijing University. Then he worked as an instructor of law at the Beijing Chemical Engineering Management Institute (北京化工管理干部学院). Because by the time he started his compensation campaign, all the atrocity victims were already senior citizens, he went to work as a researcher at the National Committee on Aging (国家老龄委) so he can interact more with the senior citizens..

Currently he is the Chairman of the China Fortune Investment Company, Ltd. (中祥投资有限公司董事长). He is a Director of the China Soong Ching Ling Foundation (中国宋庆龄基金会理事). In 1990 he initiated the campaign “Chinese Civil Claims Against Japan” and serves as the President of an NGO (Non Government Organization) “China Civil Claims Against Japan Federation” (中國民間對日索賠聯合會). In 1996 he also headed the movement “China Federation of Defending Diaoyu Islands” and serves as the President of another NGO of the same name “Chinese Federation of Defending Diaoyu Islands (中国民间保钓联合会会长)”.

Meng Huizhong (孟惠忠):Is the Office Director of the China Fortune Investment Company, Ltd., and serves as Mr. Tong Zeng’s chief assistant in his various activities, including the “China Civil Claims Against Japan Federation”. Under the guidance of Mr. Tong Zeng, she is the head of the Beijing Team working on this project.

Other Beijing Team Members:Liu Chenxue (刘晨雪) and Zhao Xia (赵霞).

B. USA Team:Headed by Dr. David T. Chai and Dr. Don M. Tow. They set up a new non-profit educational organization in USA, and registered in the State of California, with Federal Internal Revenue Service approval as a 501 (c) (3) tax-deductible public charity organization. Its name is 10000 CRIES FOR JUSTICE.

David T. Chai (柴大定):Serves as the President of 10000 CRIES FOR JUSTICE. In addition, he has been very active in his communities, including serving as a Council member and Mayor of Holmdel, New Jersey. He served on the Board of many non-profits, such as the United Way of Monmouth County, Leadership New Jersey, a Senior Health Service in San Francisco, Organization of Chinese Americans (OCA) – San Mateo, etc. He was a co-founder and the first President of Chinese American Heroes. Additional bio can be found at: http://chineseamericanheroes.org/contact-us/mgmt-team/.

Don M. Tow (曹贊文):Serves as the Vice President and Secretary of 10000 CRIES FOR JUSTICE. He has been active in his communities, including serving as the President of the “New Jersey Alliance for Learning and Preserving the History of WWII in Asia” (NJ-ALPHA). He also served for several years as a member of the Human Rights Commission of Middletown, New Jersey. He has organized several volunteer Scholastic Aptitude Test (SAT) tutoring programs for several high schools in New Jersey. In 1994 he was selected as a Fellow of the Leadership New Jersey. He also publishes his own website: http://www.dontow.com. More information about him can be found at: http://www.dontow.com/author/.

Board of Directors:In addition to Drs. Chai and Tow being on the Board of Directors of the “10000 CRIES FOR JUSTICE” non-profit organization, other Board of Director members are Dr. George Koo [also serving as the Treasurer], Dr. Ying-Ying Chang, and Dr. Peter Stanek [who since passed away in October 2014].

The purpose of this collaborative project is to preserve in a digital archive the collection of these thousands of original personal accounts that Mr. Tong Zeng received more than 20 years ago from the victims of Japanese military atrocities. This digital archive provides powerful evidence to refute all the false claims made by the Japanese government. This treasure of historical archive can also facilitate further research on these issues. We hope that it will be a catalyst to establish genuine friendship between the Japanese people and the Chinese people and true peace between Japan and China.

 

Please Join Us:  If you would like to join us or support us, please visit the “Contact Us” page.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

这个网站是中国人民与美国人民之间合作的成果。

项目由来:对于项目由来更详细的说明,请参见“网站概述”页面。本项目起源始于1990年。当时,作为一个年轻、关心时事和爱国的中国人,童增先生调查了关于在战争期间一个国家对他国公民犯下暴行相关赔偿的国际法律问题。他总结称,那些身为抗日战争期间(1931年-1945年)日本人暴行受害者的中国公民拥有向日本(向日本政府,或者在奴役劳动的情况下,还向使用这些奴役劳工的日本企业)索赔的一切权利。

1991年3月,童增先生向前往北京参加全国人民代表大会(NPC)的代表们分发了公开的 万言书。万言书指出,日本暴行的中国受害者拥有要求日本赔偿的法定权利。特别是,他区别了中国政府向日本索赔的情况和中国公民向日本索赔的情况。

童增先生的万言书在全国上下点燃了一把烈火。这是成千上万名日本暴行的中国受害者及其亲属埋藏于内心和灵魂深处,为寻求正义和了结而期待已久的项目。半个世纪的沉默不应该再继续下去。

很快,他收到了来自中国各地人们雪片般涌来的支持信。这些信件提供了他们或他们的亲属曾在日军的魔掌中惨遭种种暴行的痛心回忆。几年间,童增先生收到了约10000封这样的信件。这就是本项目/网站被称为“10000个正义的呼声”的原因。

当这些信件涌入童先生办公室的消息传出,许多记者以及这些信件写信人/受害者的许多亲属向童先生借用这些信件中的很多封。在20年前,复印机在中国的办公室和家庭中还不常见。这样一来,上千封被借走的信件再也没有还给童先生。虽然童先生最近在中国报刊上发表了一封信,要求那些曾借用任何这类信件的人将信件返还给他,但是由于历时久远,到目前为止,他仍未收到任何返还物品(我们强烈要求曾借用任何这类信件的任何人尽快将信件返还给童先生,以便这些信件可以被添加到这个数字档案中)。其结果是,仍为童先生所有的信件数量现仅存约5000封。

在20多年后,日本不仅在正视这段历史上没有任何进步,而且许多日本政府领导人还不断发表言论,否认这些暴行的存在。童先生认为,公开这些个人记述将提供强有力的证据来反驳日本政府提出的所有不实说法。纠正这种非正义行为可能成为建立日本人民与中国人民之间的真正友谊和日本与中国以及其他国家之间的真正和平的催化剂。

合作项目由来:当关于这些信件存在的报道传到美国时,在美国社团活动中具有丰富经验的柴大定和曹赞文立即联系了童先生,征求他同意以建立一个联合项目对这些信件进行扫描和数字化,并发布在公共网站上,同时将这些信件翻译成英文(在第一次发布中将仅翻译约10%的信件;在未来发布中将包括更多翻译内容)。童先生表示同意,并指定他的首席助理孟惠忠女士与柴先生和曹先生合作,这一联合项目已于2014年1月启动。

本项目由两个团队组成:

A. 北京团队:以童增为首,拥有一批在孟惠忠管理下的多位成员:

童增:1956年出生于重庆。1982年毕业于四川省成都市的四川大学,主修经济学。1986年至1989年,他在北京大学学习并获得法学硕士学位。随后担任北京化工管理干部学院法律系讲师。由于在发起赔偿运动时,所有暴行受害者都已经是高龄老人,他便又出任国家老龄委研究员,这样一来就可以和老人们有更多的互动。

目前,他是中祥投资有限公司董事长。同时任中国宋庆龄基金会理事。1990年,他发起了“中国民间对日索赔”运动,并且在非政府组织“中国民间对日索赔联合会”中担任会长。1996年,他又领导了“中国民间保钓联合会”运动,并且在同名的另一个非政府组织“中国民间保钓联合会”中担任会长。

孟惠忠:中祥投资有限公司办公室主任,并在童增先生的各项活动中担任他的首席助理,其中包括“中国民间对日索赔联合会”。在童增先生的指导下,她是从事本项目的北京团队负责人。

其他北京团队成员:刘晨雪和赵霞。

B. 美国团队:以柴大定博士和曹赞文博士为首。他们在美国成立了一个新的非营利性教育组织,并在加利福尼亚州注册,经美国联邦国税局批准为501(c)(3)免税公益慈善组织。该组织名为“10000个正义的呼声”。

柴大定:担任“10000个正义的呼声”主席。此外,他在社团中一直非常活跃,包括曾担任美国新泽西州含德市(Holmdel)的议会成员和市长。他曾是许多非营利性组织董事会中的一员,如蒙茅斯县联合之路(United Way of Monmouth County)、新泽西州领袖(Leadership New Jersey)、旧金山老年保健服务(Senior Health Service in San Francisco)、圣马特奥市美国华人协会(Organization of Chinese Americans (OCA)-San Mateo)等。他是美国华人英雄(Chinese American Heroes)的共同创立人和首任主席。更多个人履历可以在这里查看:http://chineseamericanheroes.org/contact-us/mgmt-team/.

曹赞文:担任“10000个正义的呼声”的副主席兼秘书长。他在一直活跃于社团中,包括曾担任“学习与保护亚洲二战历史的新泽西联盟(New Jersey Alliance for Learning and Preserving the History of WWII)”(NJ-ALPHA)的主席。他还作为新泽西州米德尔敦人权委员会成员为其效力多年。他曾为新泽西州的多所高中组织数个志愿者学术能力测验(SAT)辅导计划。1994年,他当选为新泽西州领袖的会士。他还公布了自己的网站:http://www.dontow.com。更多有关曹赞文先生的信息可以在这里查看:http://www.dontow.com/author/

董事会:在“10000个正义的呼声”非营利组织的董事会中,除了柴博士和曹博士以外,其他董事会成员包括顾屏山博士(兼任财务长)、张盈盈博士和思比德博士(Peter Stanek)(已于2014年10月辞世)。

这一合作项目的目的在于以数字档案形式保存这些数以千计的原始个人记述集合,这些原始个人记述是童增先生20多年前从日军暴行受害者那里收到的。这个数字档案提供了强有力的证据来反驳日本政府提出的所有不实说法。这一历史档案珍藏还可以促进对这些问题的进一步研究。我们希望,它将成为建立日本人民与中国人民之间的真正友谊和日本与中国之间的真正和平的催化剂。

 

请加入我们:  如果您愿意加入或者支持我们,请访问“联系我们”页面.